Triumphant Return & Liebster Award!

Triumphant Return & Liebster Award!

I’m back! I finished my exams almost two weeks ago, but I’m only just recovered enough to type coherently. It’s been a good two weeks, though. Freedom is sweet. I went to see my sisters and we spent two days watching Disney films and eating chips. I recommend this treatment for all those recovering from intense periods of study. And now I’m in Wales, and out of the window I can see the sea, and Snowdon, and a castle.

liebster-award1

Anyway. Enough rambling. You’re here for the book talk, not updates on my life. The lovely Mikayla at getabookmark nominated me for a Liebster award! This is an awesome tag (but let’s keep calling it an award, shall we?) that I’ve seen bouncing around the blogs I follow. The rules are as follows:

    Thank and link the blogger who nominated you
    Answer their 11 questions
    Nominate 11 bloggers who have less than 200 followers and link them
    Have your nominees answer your 11 questions
    Notify nominees through social media

So next, I need to answer Mikayla’s questions, which are a nice mixture of easy, trickier, and weird. I love weird questions. So, let’s get into it!

1. What is your favorite children’s book?

I’m not good at picking favourites, but the book I’ve loved the longest and possibly most intensely is The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, by C. S. Lewis. I refuse to watch the film, because they upset me with Prince Caspian (Reepicheep is not an annoying talking animal, and should not be portrayed as such, and Susan/Caspian is NO), and they will not lay a finger on the way I picture Coriakin or Ramandu’s daughter.

2. Do you listen to anything while you read?

Usually the distant screams of things my husband deems worthy of death in Dragon Age.

3. What was the best book you read this year?

You’re making me pick favourites again? Okay… Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, or A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab. I think. I can’t choose between them at all, and there are a handful of other books I feel guilty for not mentioning. I’m having a good reading year so far.

4. Do you have a favorite place?

My bed. I love my bed. Not, you understand, because I’m horribly lazy (although I sometimes am), but because it’s comfortable and snuggly and I can take my books and crochet and tea and tablet there. I have few hobbies which cannot be persued in bed (TWSS).

5. If you could go anywhere, where would you go?

I’d like to go to Japan, if I can take my husband with me. If I have to go alone, then I think I’d go see my parents. It’s been a few months, and I miss them.

6. What is your dream vacation?

Ah. This is the bit where I go to Japan. Although frankly, I’d take any holiday that I can legitimately travel to in an aeroplane. I’ve never been further from the ground than I can climb.

7. What would your imaginary friend look like?

IMG_20150615_112628~2

8. What kind of dinosaur are you?

I mean… If I’m going to be a huge lizard, I pick dragon. Is that acceptable? Or Silurian? No? Fine. Then I want to be that dragon kids always draw with the triangle spikes on its back. I want to say that’s a triceratops, but I was never that into dinosaurs, so I don’t know for sure.

9. In your opinion, what is the best dancing song?

I’m a fan of Shake It Off right now.

10. What is your favorite quote from a pop song?

Okay, we’re going into the vaults for this one, at least in pop culture terms.

I might have nowhere left to go,
But I know that I cannot go home,
These words are strapped inside my head,
Tell me to run before I’m dead.
Chase the rainbows in my mind
And I will try to stay alive,
Maybe the world will know one day,
Why won’t you help me run away?

– P!nk, Runaway.

11. Do you sing out loud, in your head, or not at all?

All of the above depending on the circumstances, but preferable out loud and LOUDLY.

Now. My nominations. Please note, I’m not saying you have to do this. There’s no pressure or obligation. I’m just saying I enjoy your blog, and I think it deserves an award, and more followers.

…An hour later…

Most people’s blogs don’t seem to say how many followers they have. How do people do this? Okay, here are 11 people I follow who either have fewer than 200 followers, don’t say how many. followers they have, or (in one case) have just over 200 followers, but only just. If I’ve tagged you below and your blog has thousands of followers… I’m sorry! Please don’t be offended.

    CK’s Reading Corner
    The Writing Hufflepuff
    Short Story Long
    Viper & Plum
    Books o’ the Wisp
    Caught Read Handed
    Girl in the Pages
    Books for Thought
    Scribbles & Wanderlust
    Radiant Reads
    The Coffee Clef

Since all of these blogs are hosted by WordPress (I think), everyone should be notified that they’ve been linked in something (I think).

And finally, here are some questions to answer:

    If you had to lose your sight or your hearing, which would you prefer? (I like to formulate this question as “Would you rather give up music or reading silently to yourself?”)
    What would you like to be eating right now?
    What is your hot beverage of choice?
    Tell me a funny story.
    What are you reading right now? Is it good?
    Paper and pen, or word processor?
    What can you see out of the window? Is it sunny?
    Do you have a preferred social media site? (If I have an account, I’ll come follow you.)
    Which song is stuck in your head today?
    Zombies or Unicorns?
    …I’m all out. Answer a question of your choosing.

Leave a Reply

