Bookish Bingo: Ready for Spring!

Bookish Bingo: Ready for Spring!

bookish bingo

Scrolling down my feed today, I noticed Girl in the PagesBookish Bingo New Year’s Edition Wrap Up. I love me a challenge, so I immediately clicked over to the host blog, Great Imaginations, to see when my next chance to play bingo with books would come around. And the answer turned out to be: right now! In fact, I’ve already read a book in April which completes a square, so clearly this was meant to be. I spent the next hour or so with a pen and paper trying to match my tbr pile up to the challenges, and I’ve come up with a tentative plan of attack:

Murder Mystery: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
Classic: Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
Parental Relations: King Lear by William Shakespeare (I took this out of the library to read alongside Station Eleven, which is coming up later in this list.)
Horror: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake (I don’t own this book, and it took me a long time to come up with a horror book that I even wanted to read. I’m not good with scary stuff.)
Illustrated Cover: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Forgotten Friday Picks: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Forgotten Fridays is a feature on Great Imaginations where they discuss a book which came out a least a year ago. This was the pick for August 2014.)
Yellow Cover: A Study in Sherlock: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon edited by Laurie R. King and Leslie Klinger
Bullying: Wonder by R. J. Palacio
Thieves, Assassins, Pirates: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Part of a Trilogy: The Maze Runner by James Dashner (I’m pretty sure this still counts as a trilogy, regardless of the prequel.)
Aussie Author: Sabriel by Garth Nix (I don’t own this, but I was planning to pick it up anyway, because I want to read Clariel, which came out a few months ago, but I read the other books in the series so long ago that I can’t remember anything that happened in them, only that I loved them.)
April/May/June Release: The Game of Love and Death Martha Brockenbrough (Another book I don’t own, but that’s to be expected for this category.)
Parallel Universes: A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
Non-fiction or Memoir: Malala: The Girl Who Stood up for Education and Changed the World by Malala Yousafzai
Reread: A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (And also A Clash of Kings, so that I can finally read…)
Rain or Storm in the Title: A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin (So much George R. R. Martin in so little time might be overambitious. We’ll see.)
Anthology or Collection: Tales from the Perilous Realm by J. R. R. Tolkien
Green Cover: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou (I was going to have this as my diverse book, but I own nothing else witha green cover, apparently.)
Historical: The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant (This is another book that I have read, but so long ago that I can’t remember anything much about it. I think this might have been one of the first books I ever read that included a sex scene, so I remember it as really explicit, but suspect that it isn’t really. Although the name does sort of imply some shenanigans. I’ll get back to you.)
Dark Contemporary: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
High Fantasy: Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder
WWII: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
#weneeddiversebooks: Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (I have a non-specific bad feeling about this book, but I can’t judge it until I’ve read it.)
Plants on Cover: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel (I hope plant silhouettes count, because I really want to read this book.)

Please let me know if I messed up with any of these, because I haven’t read them (mostly), so I could have got confused and put them in a category where they don’t belong.

2 thoughts on “Bookish Bingo: Ready for Spring!

Leave a Reply

