February Book Haul!

February Book Haul!

feb2015bookhaul

I’ve never really understood the point of introductory posts, so I’m going to dive straight into this blogging thing with this gorgeous stack of books I acquired in February. They’re so preeeetty! I’ve already read a couple, but don’t worry – there are no spoilers ahead. I’m just going to try to give a brief idea of why I bought them, and also show off the covers, which are pretty much universally gorgeous.

thebookthief

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

I recently powered through all of the videos on the Little Book Owl YouTube channel. Catriona has a pretty similar taste in books to me, and I trust her recommendations, so quite a few of the books in this haul are ones that she recommended or reviewed. This one is her favourite book ever, and (I know now since I’ve already read it) with good reason.

Liesel Meminger is a German girl living with foster parents in the midst of WWII. And… I’m not going to tell you much else about her, actually. Knowing about her isn’t what convinced me to read this book. Here is what convinced me to read this book: it is narrated by Death. Death doesn’t want to care about humans, but the story of the little girl who steals books fascinates him, and if a story can fascinate Death, I was pretty sure I’d be captivated too.

cinder

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella, set a few hundred years in the future. Cinder is the best mechanic in New Beijing. She is also a cyborg. Meanwhile, the people of Earth are dying of an incurable plague, and the humans who colonised the moon years ago threaten war. And then one day, Prince Kai appears at Cinder’s market stall with a broken android. And… yeah. Obviously I bought it.

theshadowcabinet

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

This is the third book in the Shades of London series and I know almost nothing about it. The series is about a girl from Louisiana who arrives at a boarding school in London ready for anything England has to offer, but not expecting the strange and terrifying things that start to happen after she has a near-death experience. I absolutely loved the first two books, and the second one ended on a heartbreaking cliffhanger, so I intend to go into this one with no foreknowledge of how that’s going to be resolved. So far, I’ve successfully avoided all spoilers.

fangirl

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

I don’t really know anything much about this book either, except that it’s about a girl who writes fanfiction, which is enough to make me excited to read it already. I mostly bought it because I read another book by Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor and Park, in January and fell head over heels in love with the story and the writing and the characters and… yes. You should read it You should probably read this too. I’ll let you know.

wonder

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

I picked this up on a whim. I vaguely remember hearing good things about it, and the cover is cool. I believe it’s about a boy who freaks other children out because he looks different, but just wants to be seen as he is inside. I feel like it’s probably going to make me cry.

hollowcity

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

Ack, so excited for this book! I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children at the beginning of February, and it was just so beautiful. So beautiful. Ack, again. I’ll avoid telling you what I know about this book, because that would be spoilers for the first. So I’ll talk about some of the stuff in this book other than the story. The cover and the insides are just So. Pretty. Riggs collects old photographs, and his story is woven around strange, unearthly pictures that he’s collected over the years. Mostly, pictures of children who can do peculiar things. I would love to know how these pictures came to be taken in the real world, but then again… Maybe not. Maybe I like the book’s version better. Either way, I’ve never read anything like the first book, and I can’t wait to dive into the second.

magicstudy

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

Have you read Poison Study? Go read it, then we’ll talk. If you’ve already read it, then you know why this was the first book I ordered this month, and why I was angry when it took ages to arrive. Yelena studies magic? Yes, please. Another book with Valek in it? YES, PLEASE.

adarkershadeofmagic

Goodreads ~ Book Depository

I first heard of Victoria Schwab maybe a month ago, and pretty much every book she’s ever written sounds incredible. So, naturally, I was paralysed by indecision. Do I pick up The Archived, or The Near Witch? Vicious or A Darker Shade of Magic? I decided to go for this one because it just came out this week, so I feel like I’m in a big club of people buying and reading this book. Except that I haven’t read it yet. But I will.

So that’s everything! Any and all recommendations are welcome, as well as requests for reviews of any of these books.

Meda xoxo

Leave a Reply

